The Gil Bennett Gold Standard Award

The Gold Standard Award was named in honour of former Canadian Tire Chair, Gil Bennett. The award has been presented annually since 2006 to a Directors College graduate who demonstrates dedication to raising the bar for professional standards in corporate governance through his or her progress in the Chartered Director (C.Dir.) program. Winners include Dr. Richard Florizone, Reena Sagoo, Jim Adamson, John Ryan, Andy Poprawa, Adam Cooper, Michael MacBean, and Don McCreesh.

Franca Gucciardi Wins 2015 Gil Bennett Gold Standard Governance Award

Franca Gil Bennett Governance Award

Toronto, Ontario, March 27, 2015 – The Directors College last night awarded the 2015 Gil Bennett Gold Standard Governance Award to Franca Gucciardi for her superior achievements as one of the College’s latest Chartered Director graduates. Ms. Gucciardi is the CEO of the Loran Scholars Foundation, an organization that recognizes and supports exceptional young Canadians for their character, service and leadership.

Ms. Gucciardi is also a trustee of the McGill Institute for the Study of Canada and vice-chair of the College Montrose Children’s Place. She has previously served as vice-chair of Volunteer Canada and chair of its public policy committee. In 2013, she was one of 33 women named a Fellow of the International Women’s Forum. Previously she designed and implemented Canada’s Millennium Excellent Award program, and has worked for the Ontario Legislative Assembly, Brampton Caledon Community Living, and TV Ontario.

“The strength of the College’s Chartered Director Program lies in its ability to arm graduates with the expertise and proficiency to exercise informed judgment and to ask the difficult questions required to create real value for their organizations and their stakeholders,” said Dr. Michael Hartmann, Principal of the Directors College. “Franca’s professional acumen, innovative thinking and core instincts exemplify the qualities and aptitudes organizations are searching for to steward their boards.”

The Gil Bennett Gold Standard Governance Award, named after the former chairman of Canadian Tire, is presented to the graduate who has received a top grade on the Chartered Director exam designed to test technical governance knowledge and has also demonstrated over the course of the Program’s 5-modules, the technical and personal characteristics needed to be an effective board director.

In accepting this award at The Directors College 11th graduation ceremony, Ms. Gucciardi applauded the Chartered Director Program. “Organizations are currently facing many challenges where strategy, vision and leadership are vital to success and prosperity. The Directors College’s program has enabled me to further recognize the importance of corporate governance through a new lens and provided me with new tools to be a better director,” said Ms. Gucciardi. “I believe good governance makes good communities and that boards have a huge role to play in building a just and fair society.”

Founded in 2003, The Directors College launched Canada’s first university accredited corporate director development program now offered across the country and in both official languages. The College is a joint initiative of McMaster University and The Conference Board of Canada. For more information visit The Directors College’s website.




For more information contact

Corporate Communications


Past Award Recipients

Brian Friedrich: Principal, friedrich & friedrich corporation

Dr. Richard Florizone: President, Dalhousie University

Reena Sagoo: Chief Financial Officer, Borealis Infrastructure, Winner 2012

Jim Adamson: Director, Com Dev International, Winner 2011

John Ryan: CEO, Canadian Society of Immigration Consultants, Winner 2010

Andy Poprawa: President and Chief Executive Officer of the Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO), Winner 2009

Adam Cooper: Former Chair of the Board of Directors of Educators Financial Group, Inc., Winner 2008

Michael MacBean: Managing Director, TriWest Capital Partners, Winner 2007

Don McCreesh: Corporate Director and President, The Garnet Group Inc., Winner 2006

Upcoming Events